كلما كسرت الروتين كلما نعمت بحياة أفضل..

2018/11/21

كلما كسرت الروتين كلما نعمت بحياة أفضل..

هشام زعبلاوي، 67 عام من الاردن

 

يقول السيد هشام زعبلاوي البالغ من العمر 67 عام: منذ ما يقارب ال خمسين عام بدأت العمل بتجارة الاقمشة كنت املك محل صغير في وسط البلد. كنت افتح محلي في الصباح ابيع الاقمشة وانصح السيدات بأنواع الاقمشة الأنسب وما يتماشى معها من تصاميم واتحدث مع الأصدقاء من التجار في السوق الى ان يحين وقت اغلاق المحل في المساء. واسمر هذا الروتين اليومي حتى عام 2013. عندما اضطررت لإغلاق المحل كلياً بسبب ارتفاع ايجار العقارات والازمة الاقتصادية آن ذاك.

بعد ان تركت العمل والتزمت المنزل عام 2013 أصبحت أحاول مجابة ضغوطات الحياة التي تزداد وطأتها مع تزايد الأعباء والمسؤوليات المتعلقة بالأسرة ومتطلباتها بالإضافة الى الضغوطات النفسة بسبب البقاء في المنزل بلا عمل بعد ان اعتدت العمل لسنوات طويلة. كل هذا جعلني اعاني من قلة الراحة النفسية وأدخلني وسط دوامة من الهوم المسؤوليات التي لا تنتهي.

أصبح من الصعب التعايش مع وقت الفراغ الطويل او حتى القيام بالأنشطة الترفيهية التي كنت أقوم بها في السابق مثل السفر ومجالسة الاصدقاء، لقد كنت ممن يحب أن السياحة والسفر خارج البلاد، وأن امضي وقتي في السوق مع الأصدقاء. ولكن لم يعد بالإمكان فعل ذلك بعد أن أغلق المحل لان الدخل محدود جدا والالتزامات المادية تجاه الاسرة تفوق ذلك اصلاً، وحتى التواصل مع الأصدقاء لم يعد موجود لان أغلب او جميع أصدقائي كانوا من التجار الذين تعرضوا لنفس الازمة فلم يعودوا يرغبون بالتواصل بسبب الضغوطات النفسية او انشغالات الحياة.

واستمر ذلك الى أن تعرفت على مركز المعرفة والمصادر التابع لمنظمة HelpAge International  في الأردن في شهر آذار 2017. انضممت الى فريق الرعيل الأول حين تشكيلة وبدأنا نلتقي ضمن اجتماع اسبوعي في المركز يقدم خلاله جلسات توعية وأنشطة اخرى مختلفة ومتنوعة. أحببت هذه اللقاءات كثيراً وكنت استمتع بها حتى أنني قررت أن اعرض عليهم فكرت التطوع للعمل معهم، وبالفعل كان هذا ما حدث. لم يكن انجذابي لهذا العمل لمليء وقت الفراغ بل كان انجذاباً لنوع جديد من الخبرة.

أستطيع ان أصفه بالروتين اللامحدود فهو مختلف جداً عن روتين حياتي السابق حتى عند ما كنت أعمل كتاجر، لما فيه من تنوع ولتعرفي على نمط جديد من الحياة والمرر بخبرات مختلفة. فقد فتح لي المجال للتعرف على اشخاص بخبرات ومجالات وانشطة وأماكن مختلفة ومتنوعة. وربما اريد ان ابوح لكم بسر لقد بلغت هذا العمر دون أن يسبق لي القيام بمثل هذه الأنشطة، فلم يسبق لي أن دخلت المدينة الرياضية قبل زيارتنا لها مع فريق الرعيل الأول أو الجندي المجهول أو صرح الشهيد. حتى المحاضرات التوعوية كانت مفيدة جدا لي، فلم أكن اعلم عن وجود تأمين صحي مجاني يتم تأمينه من قبل وزارة الصحة الأردنية لمن هم فوق ال 60 فقمت بعمل تامين صحي وكانت هذه أول مرة بحياتي احصل بها على تأمين صحي.  

لقد فتحت لي الافاق للتعرف على اشخاص جدد من ممثلي المؤسسات والمنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية من خلال الأنشطة والفعاليات المشتركة بينهم وبين مركز المعرفة والمصادر، حتى تعرفت على منظمة "جسر الى.." التي منحتني فرصة تدريبة مدفوعة الاجر في شهر آذار 2018. لقد سررت بها كثيراً لما تركته من أثر إيجابي في نفسي، ويعود الفضل بذلك ايضاً وبشكل كبير للمنح المصغرة التي قدمتها المنظمة الدولية لمساعدة المسنين لتشجيع مبادرات القدرة على التكيف والتكامل الشاملة للعمر لدى المنظمات والمجتمع وتعزيز فكرة أننا ما زلنا موجودين، على الرغم من تقدمنا في السن، وأننا لا نزال نملك الطاقة، والرغبة بالعمل. كل هذه التغيرات الإيجابية في الفترة الأخيرة جعلت حياتي أفضل ووصلت الى قناعة بأنه "كلما كسرت الروتين كلما نعمت بحياة أفضل".

تم إنشاء هذا الموقع الإلكتروني بدعم من German Humanitarian Assistance و Aktion Deutschland Hilft

The more you break your routine, the better your life will be…

2018/11/21

The more you break your routine, the better your life will be…

Hisham Zabalawai, 67, Amman, Jordan

 

Hisham Zabalawi, 67, says: for nearly 50 years, I worked in the fabric trade business, I used to own a small shop in the center of Amman. I would open early in the morning and sell fabric, and give recommendations on the most appropriate fabrics and designs for different occasions. I used to speak to my friends who are other businessmen until it was closing time, and this became a routine until 2013. This is when I was forced to close my shop due to my inability to keep up with the increasing rent prices and the economic crisis.

After, I retired in 2013, I found myself stuck at home trying to cope with the pressures of life, which were continuously increasing with burdens and family responsibilities, in addition to the psychological pressure of staying home without a job after all these years. All of these factors led me to face a lack of psychological comfort and introduced me amid a whirlpool of pain and responsibilities.

It became increasingly difficult to live with all this empty leisure time or even to participate in the recreational activities I was used to doing like traveling, sitting with friends. I have always loved these activities. However, it was no longer possible to do so after the shop closed because the income was limited and the financial obligations towards the family are more important than activities for myself. Even my social life was no longer existent, because the majority of my friends were businessmen as well that faced the same crisis as myself and no longer wanted to keep in touch due to psychological strain, and the pressures of life.

This continued until I learned about the HelpAge International Knowledge and Resource Hub in March of 2017. I joined the older people group and started meeting with people and participating in the awareness sessions and many other activities. I was so happy here that I even offered to volunteer with this organization, and indeed this is what happened. It was not money I was looking for, it was the passion that stirred internally, a new experience, and something positive to spend my spare time doing, working with the older people who know one else acknowledges.

I describe this experience as breaking the routine, as it is something very different then my previous life routine. It opened the door for me to meet new people, lead on activities, I even went to the Hussein Sports City for a walk, which I had never previously done in my 67 years. I learned about my country and the things there are to do, about the laws and regulations, I learned that Jordan has free healthcare for people over the age of 60 and I even signed up for this. This was the first time in my life that I obtain Health Insurance.

My activities continued, and I was joined up with a partnering organization of HelpAge International, Un Ponte Per, which provided me with a paid internship in March 2018. I am extraordinarily pleased with the positive impact this had on my life. I went from being a negative person to a positive person and having hope again in my life. This is all thanks to the sub-grants that HelpAge provided in order to encourage age inclusive resilience within organizations and the community spreading the message that we still exist, despite age, and that we still have the energy, and the desire to work. I have come to the conviction that the more we break our routine, the more we enjoy life.”

The creation of this platform was possible through the support of German Humanitarian Assistance, Aktion Deutschland Hilft.